News 2012

Ondrej Fojtik (CZE) conquers the Salzkammergut!Ondrej Fojtik (CZE) conquers the Salzkammergut!

Ondrej Fojtik (CZE) conquers the Salzkammergut!

The Czech Ondrej Fojtik won on the extreme distance of 211km and 7000 meter of elevation of the 15th edition of the Salzkammergut-MTB-Trophy 2012!

At the beginning it looked like, the former winner of 2011, Wofgang Krenn form Lienz will be able to repeat his victory. After 80km, though, he called it a day “The start and the first 2 hours.

We felt reasonable good” so the evidently spent Styrian. An on setting viral cold, however forced him to withdraw from the race.

The race has been decided on the uphill!
It turned into a battle of three countries: the Dutch Bart Brentjens, the 4 time German Marathon Champion Max Friedrich and the Czech Ondrej Fojtik pulled away after Krenn gave up. The fight has been decided on the crest up to Raschberg as well as to Rossalm, between Hallstatt und Gosau!  Fojtik crossed the finish line with a phenomenal time of 10 hours 37min, on the main square of Bad Goisern, followed by Bart Brentjens at 7 minutes. “It’s been extremely tough! At kilometer 150 I had a crisis, and I lost all hopes to keep up with the high tempo. “Those are the words of the victor in the immediate interview” so the grinning Goldi, who then quickly sought his warm shelter.

Goldi surrenders after 135km!
Andreas Goldberger gave it a try on the extreme distance, pulled out, however, at km 135 “ Until that point all went to my plans, however I didn’t want to take chances when the heavy rain started to come down.” His participation for next year is nailed down. “I will then most definitely finish the extreme 211km.   

Christoph Soukup wins on the 119-distance!
On the B-distance [119km] the obvious winner was Christoph Soukup from Berndorf. Followed closely by Jukka Vastaranta, the 2011 Marathon-vice-European Champion in Kleinzell. An incredibly strong performance has been showed by Hermann Pernsteiner from Lower Austria who took 3rd .  

In the women category of the B-distance has been won by the German Barbara Kaltenhauser, followed by Sabine Sommer and  Verena Krenslehner.

The total number of participants was 3.824 hard core weather-proof biker of the anniversary edition of the Trophy. That is a new record.

Tomorrow the race goes on with the 15th Salzkammergut-Trophy Uphill-sprint, the ASVÖ SCOTT Junior Trophy as well as the Unicycle downhill!

Foto (frre of charge) to be had at Erwin Haiden,nyx: The winner of the  Extreme distance, with 211 km and  7.000 mater of elevation Ondrej Fojtik from Czech Republic.